Retrospectives

Here I will collect reviews that I will be calling “Retrospectives”. The “Retrospective” title is an umbrella term that will collect both “Blind Spot” reviews and “Marathons”.

“Blind Spot” is for reviewing films that I would consider to be pretty glaring blind spots. There are many films that are widely recognized as “great movies” that I have yet to see. Some of the most glaring blind spots of mine include Citizen Kane, Casablanca, The Godfather, among countless other classics. I have remedied some of these blind spots but here is a list that compiled all the titles that I’m embarrassed to admit that I have yet to see.

Please don’t revoke my film fandom card. I have seen Chopping Mall, Maximum Overdrive, Bloodsport, and many other films that are generally regarded as guilty movie pleasures. These types of films are just as important to me. They are part of a well-balanced cinematic diet. If Citizen Kane is the main course, Chopping Mall is a dessert. They are both great parts of the meal, but they serve different purposes. So sure I have missed many classics, but that’s because those movies are only one part of my film-fandom. *End overly self-conscious paragraph

“Marathons” are for covering a large amount of these blind spots in a short period of time. They will be grouped together in ways that link the films. That could be through director, actor, genre, year, country, franchise, or any other link that is present. “Marathons” will collect at least five films to group together. All the films collected in the marathons will also be never-before-seen.

Currently I am in the middle of doing two “Marathons”. I am watching the Nightmare on Elm Street franchise and Film Noir titles for “Noirvember”. I only have New Nightmare and A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010) left in the Elm Street marathon. And the film noir titles that I have caught up with thus far are The Big Sleep, The Maltese Falcon, Double Indemnity, and Night of the Hunter. I will conclude the “Noirvember” marathon by the end of the month, additionally watching one or two more titles before then.

I am very excited about this portion of the site. It will motivate me to become a more well-rounded viewer. Check back soon for the first update on this section of the site.